Day 45: Meryl Streep, The Descendants and the Merlion

Standard

This is going to be a stir fry post – i mean  a lot of different things put together and blended into one post. The idea is not to be coherent, but only to put things out as they occur in my mind.

I love Meryl Streep. I mean, I looovvvveee Her! What a talent! If you observe the range of her characters from Kramer Vs Kramer, Sophie’s choice, Devil wears Prada, Julie and Juliet and now The Iron Lady – it’s simply OMG. I saw Julia and Juliet immediately after watching The Devil wears Prada and I was totally blown away by her character. Such actresses are rare and Kudos to Hollywood for bringing in all these amazing roles for an actress like her. In India, an actress past her age would now be playing cranky mother in laws or plump mothers as the supporting character to the Hero (usually older than her). The Doubt is another amazing movie . She has undoubtedly invoked an entire generation of moviegoers to the true power of acting.

In the Iron Lady, there’s this scene where she looks out the window and the screen only shows her face. There’s the sound of something in the street, a bicycle at one corner, suddenly the sounds of birds chirping – and we see this all on her face. What’s more she’s very old, probably suffering from Dementia and each sound invokes different emotions in her – it’s amazing how Meryl Streep does this! I tried doing this scene myself. I imagined myself myself to be old, then sick and forgetful, lonely and bereaved, but I was once a prime minister and some of that strength ought to be there somewhere – and then I do this drama on my face. It was hard to just pretend to be slow and old, and to put all of the above together – impossible. I am quite sure I looked retarded – I found my chinese land lord staring at me weirdly when I turned back.  I briefly considered explaining all this to her – NOW that, would have been an oscar winning performance (She doesn’t know any English and I don’t speak Chinese)

 

Then I saw the Descendants today – another great picture by Alexander Paine. I love Clooney in that. That boy loving bastard has done it again – a brilliant performance, untouched by stardom – a plain human being. While the Iron lady has nothing special in terms of script and is carried along by the sheer brilliance of Meryl Streep’s acting, The Descendants is all about the script. It’s such a gelato script. The depiction of what would have been a families’ sad and tragic story in the terms of humor. Kudos to the script writer. I should specially mention the three kid actors in the movie (I’m including Sid – the retarded bf to Susie). It must say volumes about the movie that the theatre in Singapore that I went to see it was fully packed.

After Up in the Air, another brilliant performance by Clooney (but not Oscar worthy)

Also, been exploring a lot of Singapore. Went to the Raffles place today – Great view from the bay there. I’ll put up some pictures as soon as I am ready to upload by blog on Singapore exclusively!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

