Day 14: Java! Java! Drunk on Java!

Standard

I remember the first time I learnt C++, in my  twelfth grade, I had no idea what was being taught in the class. My teacher, the delightful Mrs S, would write a program to add two numbers, then subtract them and finally multiply three numbers. All of this could be done by a calculator – and I never understood for a time why we were going to such great lengths to find a substitute for mathematics. Then one day, it struck me – I was not doing these calculations – with a language, I was effectively communicating with my computer, was making the computer do the things that I wanted it to do for me. Of course, no one needs a program to add two numbers, but a program that would automatically display all the prime numbers that I wanted: it was amazing! I saw my computer for the first time as it was orginally created to do: as a computing machine! There was no stopping me from then, I went ahead of my class, my final year project was my own adaptation of the computer game Snakes! and it was  a huge hit among the guys! I finished the top of my class in computer science.

Of course, in the years that followed: totaling six, I completely lost touch with programing, until my PhD called forth a new level of programing from me. Then over the course of the last month, in the pursuit of designing my website, I came upon Java – and in a courtship lasting a few days, I completely fell in love with it. It’s soooo…amazing! Creating applets, drawing and designing stuff. Applets are the best!

I am just learning now – but I think I’ll try to redesign the Snake! game in Java and see where that is headed. Further, I might be able to integrate Finite Element analysis in Java and combine the two. This might give me a reason to study that as well and get on with Torsion!! Finally

By the way, had a good day at the gym and a generally good day so far.

Tomorrow is Time line 15. To think that it has already been 15 days since I started this blog! Time does fly (when you count it)

The rest of the goals are kinda slow, but expect for the short story part, everything is going somewhere at least. And that’s something, ain’t it?

 

Leave a Reply

