Day 7: The tale of the two headed snake!

Standard

If I go on like this, I’ll soon end up writing my own operating system.

Ok, I probably won’t. (there is really no reason to do so anyway, all the present systems work just fine).

Today all the major websites of the world – wikipedia, reddit, even wordpress is observing a blackout to protest the SOPA and PIPA  bills. The power of the internet is amazing. Truly. Apparently Pirate Bay was one of the reasons why this bill was introduced, but get this  – I never knew if Pirate Bay until now, thanks to PIPA and SOPA, I not only came to know what that is, but also is happily downloading Windows 7 through utorrent as I speak. The power of the internet is amazing. Having said that, it would probably be the 100th day by the time I complete my windows download.

With the website temporarily out of the way, I am more focused on the General Relativity part now. Have been working to understand tensors – I have reached Reimann tensors in Schaums till now. It’s great progress considering where I was last time. It’s fun, but in the meanwhile, my own aptitude had increased, I think I am far more receptive to these information now – Which could be why I kind of follow it instantly. I am thinking more and more about manifolds and particularly about the intersection of manifolds. This seems an interesting problem – it is to me. At the heart of all of this, I have a gut feeling the properties of numbers are tied to the space in which they are embedded and that we have not identified what would be the invariant number theoretic properties from this perspective. I completely accept the fact that this could be another one of my false leads – but that’s ok. The information that I am gaining more than enough compensates for this. Plus, it always helps to work with a definite problem in mind. Makes your understanding solid.

Could there be a universe with two dimensions of time?

Think about this: we have three dimensions of space and only one dimension of time. (forming the famous four dimensional space time continuum). Even in advanced string theory, where there are eleven dimensions of space, there is only time dimension. Physically in a two time dimensional universe you could meet someone at the corner of X and Y (in city Z) at 10:00 am this time and 2:00 pm that time. (Whatever that might even). There is no point even trying to visualize it – you can’t. Far more than space, the concept of time is ingrained in our brain and evolution. (Think: Biological clock).

A possibility is that there maybe no time dimension at all. Time is – I’m just saying – just an illusion produced by something else. In that case, the number of time dimensions is actually zero. This is another reason for learning tensors – math might just be the way to study this. You could start with general variables and see how things change when you add or subtract extra variables.

I’m not hoping to achieve anything – In all probability, I won’t. But it’s fun to learn and to be able to talk and work in the same language as others. Also, there would be less things holding me back from understanding things I truly like – be it General relativity or continuum mechanics.

I’m expanding and I’m enjoying it. I’m hungry, very very hungry. 🙂

Leave a Reply

